Mexico – a foreword

So, I just got back to Bolivia from Mexico, and it is fair to say that I have had a bit of post-travel blues… because Mexico was so incredibly awesome!

Some context – my partner is Mexican, and he had to go to Mexico City (CDMX) for some stuff, so we decided we were gonna make a holiday out of it and explore some together. Thus, the first part of the trip we spent in CDMX with his cousins, and the second part we went to the Yucatán peninsula, as he had never been there and we wanted to go to the beach! I’m not sure how many posts this will be, as there’s a lot to say, but I’ll try to make them easy to digest.

To provide a bit of an overview; why is Mexico so amazing?

Geographically, Mexico has some significant advantages – its capital has a pleasant temperature all year round, (the north of Mexico is superdry and hot but I won’t be talking about that) and the peninsula is more tropical, it has countless beautiful beaches on both the Pacific and the Atlantic coast and beautiful nature. Also Mexico has lots and lots of flight connections, so it’s not too hard or expensive to go there. Well, ok, everything is expensive from Bolivia, but apart from that it’s a good value for money trip.

Historically, Mexico is a mega-interesting place, and there’s a lot of pre and post-colonial sights – from ancient ruins to beautiful villages and churches and 20th century culture. It’s impossible to be bored. And on that note, the capital has 20 million inhabitants, so there is definitely things going on and places to see for everything you can imagine.

Food-wise, just let yourself be blown away. I learned to up my spice tolerance during this trip, and was eating pretty much constantly. Not only is food great, but also very cheap and accessible. Even as a vegetarian, there were always options (or something that could be adjusted). CDMX also has great vegan places!

Personally, I also had an amazing time thanks to my partner’s cousins, an old friend and the people we hung out with. If they are representative of Mexicans in general, there is no way to fail on having fun in this country 😉

Downsides? I ended up giving Mexico a 9/10, downgrading it 1 point because of the terrible smog in CDMX and the risk of earthquakes. There was actually one while I was there that triggered the alarm, but we didn’t feel anything. Also, parts of Mexico are dangerous or at least unsafe, and politics are notoriously corrupt, but on my trip I did not significantly notice either of these (although watching the presidential debate on TV was pretty disheartening, to say the least). Having said that, I’m quite experienced travelling in Latin America – meaning, this is not Europe. So depending on what you are used to, you will have to adjust your behaviour for your own safety and comfort – as always.

But travelling (in my interpretation) is all about getting out of your comfort zone, so do not let anything hold you back if you have even the tiniest hunch that Mexico could be a place for you!

IMG-20180522-WA0005
Looking out for conquistadors (Tulum)

One comment

Leave a comment